My First Try at Quail

Discussion in 'Quail' started by DarrellS, Mar 22, 2011.

1. DarrellS

DarrellS New Egg

Mar 1, 2011
    Three weeks ago in the brooder. I did not lose any, so I guess I did alright.

[​IMG]

While they were growing up I put together a new home for them. Measures 4x8x32". They seem to like it and they love their dirt pan I put in the open cage area.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

If you see any problems with anything please let me know as I am just starting out.

2. Fat Daddy

Fat Daddy Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 11, 2010
    Ks
    Nice pen and welcome to the forum...

3. _Randall_

_Randall_ Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 3, 2009
    Grenada, Ms
    Lookin' good so far. [​IMG]
    A little hint of advise.......that looks like a 7 lb. feeder(?) If so, even though it's got the dividers around the perimeter of the feed-tray part of the feeder to help in preventing the birds from scratching / slinging feed-to-waste, they can still get over in there to "scratch" some feed-to-waste unless you hang it from the ceiling of the pen. I use double-loop chain on a little hanger from the ceiling so I can adjust the height as they grow. If you hang it, they won't get on it to waste the food with it moving. (It's a ground birds nature to "scratch-n-eat"......and you won't change that as long as they're alive.)

Last edited: Mar 22, 2011
  4. peewee

peewee Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 25, 2008
    Orlando, Florida
    Fantastic job on both the birds and the pen. [​IMG] My only suggestion is to wrap the bottom of the pen with a "skirt" of some kind. Maybe more hardware mesh? Just so the 'coons can not get a hold of any toes threw the hardware mesh that you have down for the floor.

5. JJMR794

JJMR794 Overrun With Chickens

Mar 2, 2009
    BROOKSVILLE FL
    Quote:X2

6. B. Kossum

B. Kossum Out Of The Brooder

Feb 28, 2010
    New myself- how would the OP clean under the cage if they wire it up?

7. Robo

Robo Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 15, 2010
    Knoxville,TN