My geese. Who would have thought we would be so close.

Discussion in 'Geese' started by cdnley, Sep 29, 2011.

1. cdnley

cdnley Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 7, 2010
    I am fairly new to geese. We raised a wild Canada Goose in 2010, but he flew away in the fall last year.

I never knew how close of a relationship we could have. I assumed they would be like ducks (a bit stand-off-ish and a preference to be amongst themselves). Every morning my Tufted Buff "barks" at me and my White Danish off key honks. They will walk with me whenever I am out on the yard and always respond when I talk to them. I am still unsure on the sex of them. They have not been doing any kind of "moves" in the pond (unlike a few of my ducks the same age). They are about the same size with my White Danish maybe being a smidge taller. If any of you have these breeds how would you tell the sex?

Here are a few picture of them.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Kim65

Kim65 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 29, 2009
    Washington state
    Geese are very special. They don't "forget" you when they are mature, you will always be their parent. They seem to have very developed relationship skills [​IMG] for such simple critters, especially if you hand raise them from hatch. Many people have them as pets because they are as devoted to you as a good dog, and are affectionate in their own way.

My gander Petey is two and a half years old, and believes he owns the place, but when I walk in the yard, he runs for me and makes baby noises until I bend over and let him chew on my hair. He'd done this since he was a day old. If I sit in the yard he will sit near me and "guard" me from intruders (ie, chickens, the dog, the ducks). He will also spend as much time as I'll let him "doing my hair". He's almost made a dread lock a couple of times, very VERY hard to comb out [​IMG]

3. cdnley

cdnley Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 7, 2010