1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

My girl laid her first egg! Now what?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Indyrun, Aug 10, 2014.

1. Indyrun

Indyrun Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 8, 2014
    Brisbane Australia
    Help! Novice here...
    What do I do with the egg? She laid it right next to her bed. I didn't touch it.
    She hasn't been sitting on it today as far as I know... It's been a warm day.
    Do I leave it? Go buy an incubator or is it too late. The drake has been mating with her for months.

2. fleedo

fleedo Out Of The Brooder

Nov 23, 2012
    she should do a good mum so just leave it with her

good luck[​IMG](soon)

3. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    With domestic breeds, we do not know if they will go broody or not… I have been told that the eggs laid after a few weeks are more viable for hatching - I have not confirmed that, just passing that along.

Also, when ducks do go broody, it is after they have collected a number of eggs. Sometimes three, sometimes twelve - it varies.

Some will brood for a few days or a couple of weeks. Then walk away. Some kill the ducklings once they are hatched, and I do not know why - just trying to prepare you.

4. Indyrun

Jan 8, 2014
    Brisbane Australia
    Oh no...
    She laid her second today in the same spot.
    How many days are the eggs viable?
    When and if I should move them?
    The drake is even more protective of their coop now.

5. duckcop

duckcop Out Of The Brooder

Jul 8, 2014