my hen crowed last night. (ha ha)

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by fallenweeble, Dec 22, 2007.

1. fallenweeble

fallenweeble Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 4, 2007
    sooooo . . .
    ruby, my rescue chicken started crowing last night.
    uh, clearly ruby is a rubio. jokes on me.
    but he is a really great chicken so i'm not gunna hold his gender against him (okay, no puns/jokes please, this is a family site [​IMG]
    since i got him last month his comb has like quadrupled in size! it went from being "barely there" to hanging over his left eye!
    i'm posting some pics so that maybe someone might be able to determine what kind of chicken he is. he's a smaller and rather quiet/mellow guy, if that helps.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    thanks!
    f. weeble

2. chickenranchwife

chickenranchwife Chillin' With My Peeps

Well, I'm no expert, but I think I would have to say a RIR.

3. justusnak

justusnak Flock Mistress

Cant tell without the tail...but looks sorta like a production red, or brown leghern??That floppy comb I dont think would be RIR. Mine dont have combs like that...but, im no expert either. Sure is a pretty guy tho.

4. speckledhen

speckledhen Intentional Solitude Premium Member

Looks like a Cubalaya type breed.

5. fallenweeble

Dec 4, 2007
    thanks ya'll,
    i'd post pics with the tail but, unfortunately, most of his tail feathers were destroyed in the attack (plus i don't think they had grown in completely yet - this is obviously a young bird since his comb is still growing). i'll have to wait a few month for his tail to come back in to get some photos of it. hopefully it will be one of those glorious shiny show-off rooster tails but we'll love him even if no tail ever returns.[​IMG]
    it's just so funny that he's a rooster after all.
    i don't know much about chickens (obviously) but his behavior has been so docile and gentle and, basically, cuddly! is that normal for roosters or is he "special?"