My Hen Is Being Complicated-- broody signs

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by HellurrJesse, Mar 20, 2013.

1. HellurrJesse

HellurrJesse Out Of The Brooder

Jan 13, 2013
    Houston, Texas
    Hi everyone, I'm fairly new to BYC so I'm not sure how everything works just yet haha.

Well, I'll start off by saying that I have 2 hens--I THINK one is a Chantecler and the other one is a Buff Orpington for sure. I also have a Creole Chantecler rooster. The 'Chantecler' hen doesn't like my Buff Orpington and pecks her constantly, chases her away, and practically bullies her all the time. That's not my problem, though.

My Buff Orpington has definitely been showing signs of being broody, but she doesn't want to! It's honestly frustrating. She used to be the sweetest thing in the world and she always loved being petted, and now she practically hates my touch and growls at me. She'll stay at her nest (both my hens share the nest, unfortunately) for hours and she'll get really angry and puffs herself up if you try reaching out to her. Just when I think she'll finally stay in her nest though, she's then off rummaging through the yard and never returns to the nest. The other day, she actually slept on her eggs and I thought she FINALLY went broody, but she backed out of it! This is an off/on cycle, but she hasn't slept on her eggs since. I know for sure that she doesn't stay in her nest just to lay an egg, and she's not being lazy at all. She's very defensive about her eggs, too. She just can't make up her mind.

I'm wondering if this has anything to do with my rooster. He's always catching her and constantly mating with her. The other hen is much harder for him to catch, so he goes for the Orpington. I just really want her to finally settle down and hatch her eggs. My family and I are longing for baby chicks. :/

Any advice? I would really appreciate feedback!

2. OrpieLover31

OrpieLover31 Overrun With Chickens

Nov 5, 2012
    Earth