1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

My hen is laying, but for how long?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Georgia Dream, Dec 30, 2014.

1. Georgia Dream

Georgia Dream Out Of The Brooder

Dec 26, 2014
    Georgia
    Hey y'all!

My American Game hen (blackberry) is laying eggs, and so far its been 1 medium egg every other day. Now im new to this chicken business, so my question is how long does an American Game hen usually lay? Or is it the same for all chickens? I need to know because another hen of mine i feel is about to start her first laying aswell.

Thanks so much!! :)

2. emma p

emma p Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 24, 2013
    Kansas
    They normally lay very well for five years but will keep laying for longer that is just about their peak. They will take small breaks in laying eggs through the year, when they molt and sometimes during the winter. It can be different for different breeds but from what I have learned it is mostly just from hen to hen how they do.

3. Jajika

Jajika Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 24, 2007
    Northern California
    I let nature determine how long my hens will lay. I do nothing to encourage more eggs in that I don't put lights in the coop, etc. I've had some hens lay for 7 to 8 years. I had one, Hannah Banana lay an egg when she was 10!!!!!

Yes, they slow way down in the winter as there isn't as much daylight. They amount of hours of daylight will determine how often a hen will lay. Some more than others throughout the year.

They will slow way, way down when they are molting or broody as well as in the winter.

Geri

4. Georgia Dream

Dec 26, 2014
    Georgia
    Thanks this really helps me :) Im new to this whole chicken business so, im still learning all the ropes :)

5. Georgia Dream

Dec 26, 2014