My hen just died in my arms-please help me figure out why. :(

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by heiditam, Dec 30, 2014.

1. heiditam

heiditam Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 8, 2014
    :( I have 4 red stars. 8 hens total. Today, during free range, one of the red stars was sitting in woods alone with tail down and sleeping. I found that odd. I picked her up and put her back in run. Later, she was doing same thing in the run. I picked her up to investigate. She was lethargic. Her heart was beating really fast and hard though. I felt around for egg binding, but I didn't feel anything. Although I am very very new to this, so I am not sure what I would be feeling, but I didn't feel any lumps on either side of vent. I took her back out to coop and dipped her beak in water. Her head was limp so I pulled her back and noticed that her head was very droopy and she was having a hard time holding it up. Then it went completely limp and a few moments later, she passed.

I am baffled and so sad. What happened!??!!! :( She only showed symptoms today.

Mites/Lice-NONE. I am SURE of this. I checked throughly. Girls dust bathe everyday.

Worms/parasites-She was dewormed as a precaution in Sept. No evidence of parasites.

Cocci-I saw red droppings a few months ago and preemptively treated everyone for cocci then. No more red droppings.

The last few days I have noticed that someone was dropping water-y poop but I have been unable to isolate who it was. Watery with green.

But everyone is acting chipper-eating, playing, laying. Except for her today.

Oh please help. :(

She is from mcmurray so vaccinated against mareks.

It was just so sudden. ????!!!!

2. WthrLady

WthrLady Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 24, 2014
    WestOak, Nebraska
    Do you have any mouse or rat poisons out?

3. heiditam

Aug 8, 2014
    No.

There is some green ooze seeping out of her vent-just re-examined her. :( It is a bright green not like dark green I normally see in poop.