1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

My hen won't get on the roost!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Froggy with chickens now!, Sep 11, 2010.

1. Froggy with chickens now!

Froggy with chickens now! Out Of The Brooder

Jul 22, 2010
    Greenwood, MS
    I am very new to hens. My super hubby built my coop and yard for me. (I will post pics one of these days!) I have 2 hens, a Welsummer I got on July 17th, and a Barred Rock I got August 13th. Henny, the Welsummer was a year old on July 4th, came from a friend and immediately started eating from my hand, using the nest, and using the roost. Pebbles was bought from a feed store. A guy had too many chicks and took them there to sell. She was about 5 mths old, making her about 6 mths old now. She has not started laying yet, but I feel she will any day. [​IMG] When I first got her, Henny was 'mean' to her so instead of getting on the roost at night, she tucked herself away in a corner on the floor.[​IMG] After about a week, I put her on the roost, but realized the next morning she had 'roosted' in a cubby where I had the jugs of feed and scratch. She was sitting all scrunched up on top of the jugs. I took the jugs out and she continued to 'roost' in that cubby. The other night I put her on the roost after they had turned in for the night. She has remained on the roosting shelf each night. I know that because the cubby remained clean. Last night I sneaked out to see what she was doing. She was laying down on the flat surface under the roost! Henny was on the roost. Will she start getting on the roost? Or do some hens just not do that? She can sleep where ever she is comfy, just thought all 'roosted'! She is so sweet, absolutely rotten! Follows me like a puppy. Can't wait till she starts laying!!!