My husband said I am crazy LOL

StormyMoon

Songster
9 Years
May 1, 2010
Alvarado, TX
I am on my third Batch now third time using the incubator I am still new at this.

I am on day 8 out of curiosity I candled tonight and to my surprised all 31 are wiggling. To candle I used a regular bulb 60 watt, got a small card board box and cut a hole in it the shape of an egg. I put the box over the light then held the egg over it. They were very active and bouncing up and down. Now that its cool in my area I use a fan in my bed room to regulate the air not directly at the incubator but to circulate the temp I am keeping the room at a steady 72 degrees. It seems to be working better. Last hatch I set 24 eggs and only 5 hatched from that we had trouble from heat spikes and I wasn't aware of it until too late. Most of the eggs were just not fertile so it wasn't a really bad thing. The other few had blood rings must have died early on didn't develop very far.

But I didn't see the action that I am seeing in these eggs. I am excited and hoping to have a higher hatch rate this go around.
It has been a lesson for sure... I am using a LG incubator and then moving them to a home made incubator that is a cooler for lock down. I won't candle again at all I saw what I wanted to now we won't open the bator again until the day we put them into lock down.

Please wish me luck....my husband thinks I am nuts, but I want to learn as much about incubating as I possibly can.
I have the temp set at 99.0 if I turn the knob any more I get temps up close to 103. so I am leaving it where it is.
Humidity is kept at 55 % till the last days when I move it to the cooler I put a pan of water with sponge under the protected grill and bring it to 70%.

I found with the egg turner in the LG my chicks hatched out easier and in perfect circles around the top.