My incubation temperature dilemma

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by barra060, Aug 21, 2013.

1. barra060

barra060 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 15, 2013
    Hello to all.

I'm a newbie here. Earlier this summer my father-in-law gave me most of his flock. One rooster, 21 hens (ten barred rocks and 11 he called black rocks) and 5 little ones. My family and friends are enjoying the fresh eggs, and the children love to go see them as much as possible. We live on the edge of the city, and our land is just five minutes away. Since my rooster is quite "active" with the hens (daddy, what's the rooster doing to that hen - oh he's just playing with her) I started to notice that most of the eggs we were eating are fertilized. Since the eggs are picked daily, none of the hens has a chance to go to broody with them. I decided to try incubating a few of them with a homebuilt incubator to see what would happen. While researching on how to build one, here and other websites, the temp "99.5 F" was mentioned as the "optimal" temp for incubation. However, I couldn't find out where this number came from or why. As I was having trouble regulating the temp to 99.5 degrees with a hot water heater thermostat (I switched to a digital controller), I was concerned about the viability of the eggs. When I was monitoring them, I would see temp spikes up to 105 degrees on really hot days, and was concerned that I had killed the embryos, but a handheld infrared thermometer would show that the surface temp of the egg was around 95-99 degrees. I started to wonder about this number and thought about it from my physiologic and engineering background.