My miracle duck story - with pics - long post

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by cdnley, May 16, 2011.

1. cdnley

cdnley Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 7, 2010
    Hello!

Something happened today that reminded me to be positive even when things may seem at their worst. Thats why I will share my duck story with you.

I lost my male Rouen and female Black Swedish ducks last month to a fox. They were not even a year old and had just started laying eggs for the first time. I am new to having ducks and had no idea about egg laying and hatching. I went out and bought a dimmer heat lamp and vermiculite and made a homemade incubator. I collected 5 eggs and thought I would let her hatch the rest (if she would). On the 8th day of laying they were taken by the fox. I sadly collected the remaining 3 eggs in their coop, including the one she laid that morning. I researched and incubated the eggs. 6 were duds and 2 were promising. Midway through one of them failed to progress. Multiple times a day I would hand turn the one good egg and check the temperature and humidity. On the 29th day there was a dark spot on the shell which later turned out to be a pip. I could hear no chirping or anything even though there was a nice looking pip in the middle of the egg. Several hours later there was no progression so I moved away the broken shell and saw a little egg tooth and a beak. It wasn't until I did some e search that I noticed the duck was upside down (or facing the small side of the egg up).
    [​IMG]