My new baby! (Can someone give me an ID please!)

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by TinaK, Nov 12, 2011.

1. TinaK

TinaK Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 12, 2010
    Australia
    Hi guys,

My hubby spent a week away at work and returned with 2 new babies! A little duck and a turkey! I've never had a duck or a turkey so it's all a bit new! I was also totally unprepared for the new arrivals...

Here is a pic of my new baby! [​IMG] I just love it's yellow feet!

[​IMG]

I was hoping that someone could tell me what breed he / she is? I'll have to find some time to do some forum browsing and lots of reading but I have guests at the moment so I don't want to disappear into the computer room for too long!!! [​IMG]

2. Kevin565

Kevin565 Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Dec 22, 2009
    It looks like a muscovy to me but I'm no expert

3. Whiskey Bay

Whiskey Bay Chillin' With My Peeps

No expert here either,but having quite a few muscoveys myself,I would have to say it looks like one to me also...

4. desertdarlene

desertdarlene Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 4, 2010
    San Diego
    Looks like a Muscovy to me, too.

5. iamcuriositycat

iamcuriositycat Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 30, 2009
    Charlotte, NC
    Beautiful muscovy! I have mostly Runners with two muscovy's mixed in, and the scoveys are by FAR the friendliest, even though they were raised on a farm and practically feral. LOVE the scoveys. Congrats!

6. TinaK

TinaK Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 12, 2010
    Australia
    thank you for the replies!! Hopefully he/she turns into a friendly thing! It's already been earmarked as a pet... unlike the poor Turkey who has already been designated as dinner!

Now I just need to start handling it I suppose? I'd like to make it quite tame if possible!