My new chickens came with NO info - I THINK I've IDd 1/2 - Help please

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by CrazyerThanAverage, Feb 22, 2011.

1. CrazyerThanAverage

CrazyerThanAverage Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 11, 2010
    Oro Valley, AZ
    I am fairly new to chickens (< 1 yr) and I just picked up 8 new chickens that were being sold through the Tucson Community Food Bank. They look great, but since the owner was not available, and the person helping knew less about chickens than me, I didn't get much info on them. I would love to figure out what breed and age they are, but definitely need help from those with more chicken knowledge than me to figure it out. The flock was supposed to be of mixed ages and all hens. (I discovered they were mistaken on the hen part when I picked up a young, nice looking hen and got spurred. Ouch!) I've made my best guesses; please let me know how I did and what you think of the mysteries. I won't be getting rid of any of them based on what I find out, I'd just like to know more about them. Thanks!

Hen # 1 - I think I know the most about this one. I think she's a Buff Orphington around 1 year old. She's more developed than my almost-ready-to-lay BO and less so than my ~2 year old BO.
    [​IMG]

Hen # 2 - She looks like a Barred Plymouth Rock to me, but they said the owner had called them Dominique. *edited to add - she has a single comb.> 1 year, but < 2 years.
    [​IMG]

Hen # 3 - I'd say Barred Plymouth Rock again, but they aren't supposed to have rose combs. Any thoughts? > 1 year, but < 2 years.
    [​IMG]

Hen # 4 - I'm fairly certain she's a lovely colored Easter Egger. Hope she lays green (or blue) eggs! Around 1 year old.
    [​IMG]

Hen # 5 - I didn't know what she was when I brought her home, but after browsing the breed index, I'll guess Black Star/Sex-Link. Around 1 year old.
    [​IMG]

Hens # 6 & 7 - Two more Black Star/Sex-Link. Around 1 year old.
    [​IMG]