My new chicks

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Crickett, Apr 10, 2009.

1. Crickett

Crickett Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 9, 2009
    Heart of Dixie
    I just got some new chicks yesterday [​IMG]. this is my very first time raising any, but they seem to have survived their first night ok. I got up to check on them at least 6-7 times during the night. (Making sure they weren't too cold, too warm, etc.) I swear it looks as if they are nearly doubled in size already [​IMG]! Is that possible? And they look like they are starting to get real feathers too! I don't know what kind they are yet, I guess I will have to wait until they grow up to know for sure.[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

2. addicted2chicks

addicted2chicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 19, 2009
    Michigan
    Seemed like mine grew overnight too. I was surprised at how quickly their feathers start to grow in. Even my baby bantams that are only a couple days old are getting wing feathers already.
    Congrats on your new babies.
    And [​IMG]

3. Dawn419

Dawn419 Lost in the Woods

Apr 16, 2007
    Evening Shade, AR
    Hello and Welcome to BYC! [​IMG]

Congrat's on your new babies!!!

If you think checking on them 6 - 7 times a night is bad...just wait until this place convinces you to try incubating for your first time. You won't sleep for 21 days! [​IMG]

Enjoy the forum and Welcome to our madness! [​IMG]

Don't hesitate if you have any questions...make yourself at home here and just jump on in with both feet! [​IMG]

Dawn

4. mrsengeseth

mrsengeseth Chillin' With My Peeps

Welcome to the madness that is chicken raising!!

Quote:just 21?? wait'll you get talked into staggered hatches!!

5. Crickett

Crickett Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 9, 2009
    Heart of Dixie
    Thanks so much for making me feel welcome![​IMG] Is nice to know that maybe I'm not so weird for obsessing over my new babies![​IMG]

6. Dawn419

Dawn419 Lost in the Woods

Apr 16, 2007
    Evening Shade, AR