1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

My new Cuckoo Marans opinions please!!

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by New Hatcher, Dec 15, 2010.

1. New Hatcher

New Hatcher Out Of The Brooder

Jul 21, 2010
    Central Alberta Canada
    frow all you Marans Lovers I just bought myself 4 Cuckoo Marans Hens and I would like some responses of how they look. I'm new to this breed and any input would be well received. I haven't had an egg yet from them ( Just got them last night) so I don't know about egg colour yet. I think the girls look a little washed out but I'm comparing to my Barred rock roo so I could be out to lunch [​IMG] I'm not yet into showing so if they are not up to that standard thats ok but I still want someone to tell me. Good traits and bad let me have it also for the bad if you know of things to look for in a roo to fix them would be very in lighting.

Heres a few picks anyway thank you all [​IMG] [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

This girl has some gold coloured barring so is she siding on a Gold Cuckoo??
    [​IMG]

Thank you all for looking and replying [​IMG]

2. poultrycrazy

poultrycrazy Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 25, 2010
    :)
    i nothing about cuckoo marans but yours are bautiful

3. Tala

Tala Flock Mistress

Naaa, Cuckoo Marans don't have crisp bars like Barred Rocks do. (I have both in my laying flock right now, that's how I can tell them apart lol)

They look like pretty girls to me [​IMG]
    In general Cuckoos don't have as dark of eggs as the BCMs, but it all depends on their bloodlines.
    Also my Cuckoos are not exactly show quality, so I'm no expert on judging them. Mine are laying good for me, again not as dark as my BCM's, and they make black sexlinks when bred with my RIR rooster [​IMG]

4. New Hatcher

Jul 21, 2010