My new Peafowl.....can anyone tell me their colors?

Discussion in 'Peafowl' started by kbell, Nov 8, 2012.

1. kbell

kbell Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 29, 2010
    Chickamauga GA
  2. Mmmaddie13

Mmmaddie13 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 5, 2011
    Fort Collins, CO
    Both hens look India Blue. The male is India Blue Black Shoulder. Very pretty.

3. autumnmfisher

autumnmfisher Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 11, 2012
    North East, PA
    i'm not a professional but my best guess is the hens are ib. a little dark tho - maybe mixed with something...
    the peacock is definatly black shoulder, but i'm not sure what makes his tail have that color to it.

They're beautiful :)

4. Mmmaddie13

Mmmaddie13 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 5, 2011
    Fort Collins, CO
    It is possible that they are Spaldings but I'm not experienced enough to tell. :)

Last edited: Nov 8, 2012
  5. autumnmfisher

autumnmfisher Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 11, 2012
    North East, PA
    Well how old are they? Its possible - anything is :)
    one of mine has spaulding in it. - its crest (the pretty feathers on top of the head) is a little normal in front - thin stick like with feather on top, and mostly java looking - thin long feather with no change at the top. I don't see that in yours, but that doesn't mean there isn't any.
    Here's a photo of our houdini's crest. the thin long crest feathers are a java feature and can show up in spaulding mixes. (Spaulding means it has some green blood in it, whatever the persentage.)
    [​IMG]

6. kbell

kbell Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 29, 2010
    Chickamauga GA