My pallet coop- so far

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by ernndbrtt, Jul 17, 2011.

1. ernndbrtt

ernndbrtt Out Of The Brooder

Apr 4, 2011
    Here is what I have gotten done so far on our pallet coop... I indeed got the idea from jjamerb, (https://www.backyardchickens.com/web/viewblog.php?id=29322) THX! I got the pallets from my employer for free, I'm a truck driver so I have access to as many as I need... One thing I really wished I would have done though is followed jjamerb's advice about getting the same kind of pallets... A little more time in our pallet trailer at work would have saved me three fold the time during construction... Live and learn, I will heed that advice when I build my goat barn from the same materials this fall.... This is a 20 pallet coop @10 1/2' x 6'8". 3 pallets wide x 2 pallets deep. I have to cut the opening to the man door, cut the windows out, put shingles on the roof, build an awning over the front part of the coop and then the run, and the inside of the coop. All together I have @$150 in materials in this coop....

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: Jul 17, 2011
  2. Frost Homestead

Frost Homestead eggmonger

Jul 9, 2011
    Lago Vista, TX
    awesome! [​IMG] I think it's great when people use what they can get for free to make coops!

3. Hummingbird Hollow

Hummingbird Hollow Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 1, 2011
    Colorado mountains
    Very cool. I love anything that is recycled, reused, re-purposed...and free rocks too! [​IMG]

4. ladyride

ladyride Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 30, 2011
    East Tn
    [​IMG]

5. kuntrygirl

kuntrygirl Reduce, Reuse, Recycle

Feb 20, 2008
    Opelousas, Louisiana
    I love it!

6. catdaddy66

catdaddy66 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 18, 2009
    Lugoff, SC