My Pekin Chicken Cockeral Crest Changing Colour....HELP.!!!!

JeanGenie

In the Brooder
10 Years
May 30, 2009
Birmingham, UK
reggie.JPG

Hi all on both sides of the pond....

I have been keeping Pekin Chickens for a few months now, and even managed to hatch over 50 chicks this year in my first year. But my question is related to my Lavender Pekin Cockeral and why he is changing colour on his crest.

Reggie, is around 8 months old now and has been happily living with his 2 fave girls, who are also Lavender in colour, (Rare colours over here in UK). But over the past few weeks I have noticed that both he and his 2 girls crests, jowels and the like have gone from a clear red to what looks like a blonde/beige colour. A contact told me he is just preparing for the onset of a cold winter. They are developing a hard protective layer. This seems a weird answer, so I thought I would ask here.

He is being fed on Layers pellets and mash, corn and maize, plenty of veg, some potatoe, and bread. His water is fresh each day and I also add Apple Cider Vinegar to boot. He seems to jump around and move fairly normally and crows like Pavarotti. But the crest change has me stumped. He is let out and roams freely around the garden whilst I am outside, or should the need arise I have built a large pen/coop that I carry onto the grass and place him inside for safety from passing predators. His appetite his good.

Can anyone offer any advice as to what I am doing wrong. He really has me worried, mind you the same sort of colour change is happening to his 2 girls, as you can see behind him in the picture, but the other 2 in with him are black Pekin Chickens and their crest and jowels are still very red.

Do I need to give him and extra something, Vitamins maybe... I have no idea so please can anyone out there in this Foul World help.....

Thanks in advance...

JG