1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

My polish baby girl.. a few (ok a lot) of questions?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Charrisse, Feb 16, 2012.

1. Charrisse

Charrisse Out Of The Brooder

Feb 15, 2012
    Nashville, Indiana
    Im new to this.
    My first box of chicks came Monday from MM Hatchery. There were two polish girls, identical. Silver. So cute and TINY. One was trampled in the shipping box, we revived her, thought she would make it, but then died later that night. Her sister tho, is eating/drinking and moving about ok. She will scratch and peck. She will interact with the rest of the flock some, not a whole lot. Spends most of her time near the heat lamp, alseep with or without the others, if others pile on, shes cool with that. if the others are running around, she will get up, eat, drink, scratch/peck randomly for a few minutes then go back to her spot and sleep. She sleeps alot. She peeped alot, like she was looking for sis the first day.. and has been like this ever since.
    Am I seeing normal Polish traits here, or is this baby sad or sick? I feel like I need to find another silver polish girl quick for her to be friends with. Most of my flock seem like they very much hang with their "type" lol They move together as a a whole flock, but breeds seem to always be near each other.
    Maybe Im over analyzing chick behaviour because I so desperatly do not want to lose another one, and Im quite obsessed by watching/ playing with them.. they have wormed right into my heart.

Help lol [​IMG]

2. Kittyf

Kittyf Chillin' With My Peeps