My poor hens will need hen saddles!

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by LUVMYCHIKAS, Aug 14, 2013.

1. LUVMYCHIKAS

LUVMYCHIKAS Out Of The Brooder

Aug 13, 2013
    Eastern Shore of Md
    I have no experience with hen saddles! Help! Do they keep them on all the time? Just during the day? Can they still fly with them on? I have 4 hens and 4 roos. The poors girls will be worked over very soon if I don't take care of this. They are all 12 weeks old now and the mating play has begun. Any helpful suggestions would be wonderful.[​IMG]

2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    Deleted

Last edited: Aug 14, 2013
  3. LUVMYCHIKAS

Aug 13, 2013
    Eastern Shore of Md
    That's not what I want to hear. I thought if all my roos were getting along I may be able to make this work. The two cochin roos seems to be the alphas of the coop and they keep the guineas in check as well. They are the sweetest and get along very well with each other and only seem to harass the other two roos, and of course, the hens. How do you part with pets you have grown to love?

4. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon
    Regardless of what you want to hear, you have a responsibility to your hens. With only 4 hens, even 1 rooster may overmate them, you'll just have to watch and see. If you just can't bear to get rid of the remaining roosters, you'll need to build separate housing for them. Roosters do well in a bachelor pad, with no access to females they usually keep the squabbles to a minimum. But you can't tease them by having the hens right close, either, that's just mean. So, take a good, hard look at your set-up and what your capabilities are, and decide what's really best for the birds you love so much. Is it living with you, or possibly living in a more appropriate home for them?

3 people like this.
  5. LUVMYCHIKAS

Aug 13, 2013
    Eastern Shore of Md