My rooster has frostbite

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by nutmeg259, Jan 10, 2015.

1. nutmeg259

nutmeg259 Out Of The Brooder

Jul 13, 2014
    Background: This is my first year raising chickens. I live in Central Maine and the temps have been frigid lately, -20 some nights. I have 9 hens and a Blue Salmon Favorelles Roo named Samson. My coop is dry, no drafts blowing directly on the birds. I changed out the bedding before the cold spell and covered the large vents with cardboard. No heat in the coop, we do have a heated waterer.

Samson has a large comb and I've noticed a bit of frostbite on a few of the tips. I've been applying Vaseline and it seemed to help. This morning when I went out to check on him it looked awful! I brought him inside and put him in the basement to warm up.Right now he's in a dog crate. I left for awhile this afternoon and hoped to find him looking better, with color back in his comb and when I returned it looked worse!

I have reservations about having him in such a warm environment and how long we should have him in the basement. My husband thinks that he will need to be inside for 4-6 weeks. We have a lot of winter left and I feel like of we keep him inside for more than a few days we will have to keep him inside until spring.

Is there anything I can do to help the frostbite? Anything to give him for the pain? My husband is also doing a lot of work in the basement, so it's not exactly a quiet place these days... I also considered moving him to the garage. It is cold but warmer than the coop. Even on the coldest nights the beer we left out there didn't freeze. That might be an option for the winter. In that case, I might have to move his favorite birds in too. I feel so bad for him! [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

2. nutmeg259

Jul 13, 2014
    [​IMG]

3. nutmeg259

Jul 13, 2014
    [​IMG]