1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

My Rooster is acting Really funny and I am not sure what to do.

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by NewbyFarmer, Dec 8, 2014.

1. NewbyFarmer

NewbyFarmer New Egg

Dec 8, 2014
    Hello! I am completely new to chicken raising and am not sure what is going on with my Rooster.

Last week we treated him with Sevin, because of fear that he might have mites. He has been swinging his head around in an S pattern and then shaking it. The Sevin seemed to have worked or at least reduce the shaking of the head, that was until this morning.

This morning I noticed that when I let him out of the coop, he was bloody from being pecked (he was pecked last week, but after we treated him the girls left him alone), stumbling around like he was drunk and doing the S head movement very frequently. He was pecked around the head on both occasions, the first was the back of the head and this morning in for the front or neck area. He also sat down within 10 minutes of me letting him out this morning, which is not his normal style. He is only about 6 months old, but I am not sure what to do for him or what he could possibly have. Next step is to bring him to the vets, but I was hoping for a little more direction too - I do not want to loose him.

Thanks for any help!

2. Outpost JWB

Outpost JWB Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 31, 2014
    Ohio
    Does he do the head movement after eating?
    Or just before mating? Part of it may be that he is trying to establish his order in the flock.

Did you see mites on any of the chickens or the rooster? Generally you can see them.
    How did you apply the sevin?
    Was the area ventilated well when you applied it? Just trying to get a better idea of what is going on.