My roosteris injured

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by ShelleyAnn, Feb 13, 2013.

1. ShelleyAnn

ShelleyAnn New Egg

Feb 13, 2013
    Hi, Im new here & have a problem. My sweet rooster got his leg/ foot in the coop fence. He was laying on ground foot up & stuck. Insult to injury the flock also attacked him. He lost an eye it looks like. His head & neck pecked terribly. His crown is all bloody too. His face is so swollen he looks very weak. His foot is broken can't stand. Im so sad. I cleaned him up isolated him. He just hangs his head & cant stand. What should I do? Im not experienced with this. He is a big guy. Heavy too. His foot just hangs. Wont curl when I put my hand to it. Looks bruised & swollen @ center of foot

2. ShelleyAnn

ShelleyAnn New Egg

Feb 13, 2013
    Also his other eye looks swollen as well. He opens it a little then quickly closes it. I think he is blind :( The other eye is sealed closed with dried blood. He looks so sad. He about 6 yrs old. Such a cool beautiful rooster

3. kukree

kukree Out Of The Brooder

Nov 1, 2012
    maybe u should try giving him food that is high in energy and add vitamin supplements to his food and water

4. ShelleyAnn

ShelleyAnn New Egg

Feb 13, 2013
    I gave him some water. He drank a little. Refused the grain. What else can I offer him. I read soft wet cat food? I will put vitamins in the water. Good idea

5. Pinky Macgyver

Pinky Macgyver Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 31, 2012
    :'( :'( poor baby! :'(