My son just broke my heart...

nikki1

Songster
8 Years
Oct 16, 2011
Eatonville, WA
My 8 year old son is really the dearest boy ever. He came to us with AD/HD and fetal alcohol effects, but as we've had him in our home since he was 2 days old, we've been able to nurture him through many of the issues that have come up. School is hard for him, but after a lot of support (both behavioral and academic), he's doing a lot better this year. Only one trip to the office so far! (And as I'm a teacher down the hall, I know everything.) My husband and I, while often worn out and/or frustrated, have seen a lot of improvement and signs of maturity lately.

And then the neighbor lady came over the afternoon. A couple weeks ago we discovered that our son and the neighbor boy had taken 2 items from the yard of the new neighbors down the road. Husband and son tried to make amends, and all seemed relatively friendly. Neighbor boy and family were away on vacation at the time, and my son has been on pins and needles, knowing that new neighbor needed to talk to neighbor boy.

Well, turns out new neighbor was really steamed (rightfully so) and left a scathing, 4 page note on neighbor boy's door. Neighbor boy's mom came by today to give me the note, and to tell my son that he would NEVER be playing with her son again.

Okay, so I have only 2 neighbors, and they both hate my son. Now, my son is in BIG trouble, don't get me wrong. We're thinking a little family field trip to the police station, along with restitution to the neighbor is in order. I just wish folk would remember that even the best raised kids do stupid things, and that maybe working out a better supervision plan for the boys would be better than cutting them off. Especially since both boys were equally involved