MY SWEET HEN!!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by theharvey3, Oct 24, 2008.

1. theharvey3

theharvey3 Out Of The Brooder

Jul 31, 2008
    Texas
    I just had to share this with people that I knew would appreciate it. I have a three month EE hen and just yesterday added a younger (6 weeks or so) Barred Rock hen (well, we hope it's a hen!) in her run and coop with her. Since the temp is supposed to get pretty cool tonight I wanted to bring the little one in for the night. When I went into the coop to get her, they had already settled down for the night, I couldn't find the little one, but I heard chirping. So I got a flashlight and found my little BR under my EE's wing!!!! She was keeping her new friend warm! When I picked up the BR she was nice and warm, the EE was doing a great job! I didn't like taking her out, but I want to be safe with the cool weather.

I am new to keeping chickens, so I'm not sure if this is common or not...but it is OH SO SWEET!!! [​IMG]

2. swtangel321

swtangel321 ~Crazy Egg Lady~

Jul 11, 2008
    Heard of a few hens that do this, sounds so sweet !!!! Next time you should leave her in there !!!!

3. gumpsgirl

gumpsgirl Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Mar 25, 2008
    Virginia
    It sounds like you've got a great future mama there! [​IMG]

4. theharvey3

theharvey3 Out Of The Brooder

Jul 31, 2008
    Texas
    It's supposed to be in the 40's tonight, is it not too cold to leave her in there? What if my EE decided not to keep her warm all night? Thanks!!

Last edited: Oct 24, 2008
  5. debilorrah

debilorrah The Great Guru of Yap Premium Member

Most of the time that doesn't happen but I had a similar thing happen. We have a BO named Audrey and when we first got our chicks they were a week old, and we had them in the hen house temporarily while we made the brooder - they were in a rabbit cage. Audrey, the sweetheart, sat on top of the cage cooing and clucking the whole time.