my turkeys need help

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by chathound, Dec 8, 2012.

1. chathound

chathound Out Of The Brooder

Dec 8, 2012
    millport,alabama
    im new to the form
    and i cant seem to find the cure for my turkeys illness
    to start offf with i got a turkey hen from a guy that has alot of turkeys he told me he seperate her from the flock because he was trying to brake her from setting on eggs
    well by the time i got her to my house i notice she sometimes has a rattle in her when she breath and she cough every once in a while i didnt know i was suppose to keep her from my other birds at that time i had chickens and one tom i got her so he would not be lonely
    then i bought some turkey eggs and hatch me most little turkeys they are about 5 months old and i notice a few of them have watery eyes and one has a swellen head and it looks like under his eyes is fill with water
    all the vet around me are dog and cat and cattle vets not poultry vets
    they tell me its blackhead but i think they are wrong i think its a sinus or respiratory infection
    can anyone tell me what they have and is there a naturaly cure with out having to use harmfull med that will keep me from eating the turkey or their eggs or do i need to kill them all and start over
    thank you for your help
    dave

2. chathound

Dec 8, 2012
    millport,alabama
    does anyone have any ideal what they have

surely someone else has ran into this problem before i cant be the first one with this mess

the vets around here say they have never seen this before and since its messing with the turkeys head they say its blackhead
    they gave me some TETROXY HCA - 280

will that help my turkeys
    i really don't like giving meds like this to my birds i raise them for food for my large family