My very first lockdown wish me luck....update .. 3 hatched looks like a couple more will be soon woo

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by FLITZ, Mar 10, 2012.

1. FLITZ

FLITZ Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 9, 2012
    Wish me luck! my first lock down. I'm not sure what to look for when candling so I just put the all in for lockdown and I'm hoping for the best! I took out the turners put the eggs On the wire in my LG and filled all the places for water in the bottom. I put a small metal container with a paper towel sticking out of it. Just in case the humidity isn't high enough i can stick a hose in the little hole on top and put water in.

Wish me luck. My first time trying to hatch ever!

any suggestions? I put them in on a tuesday at 5:30ish pm on a Tuesday. Started setting up lockdown at 5;30is pm today (saturday) I hope at least something hatches its my first time. I would hate to have a 0% hatch rate!

also i smelled my eggs didn't smell anything bad.. should have i tried to take out any bad eggs or will my sniff test be good enough

Last edited: Mar 12, 2012
  2. NadineAdele

NadineAdele Out Of The Brooder

Mar 10, 2012
    Number one rule after lockdown..do not open the top or you will kill your chicks..they will stick to the membrane inside the egg..

3. FLITZ

Feb 9, 2012
    thanks, I will be certain not to open it at all... until any chick that is going to hatch is already hatched.

If any of my eggs hatch..once I take them out I plan on putting them in a cardboard box with a brooder light (that im buying tomorrow) over it.

What should I give the lil chicks to eat to start off with. and as for water.. What is the easiest (cheap) thing to put water in for them. Just any shallow dish i can find?....well that is IF anything hatches

4. 3forfree

3forfree Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 17, 2010
    essexville, michigan