My Wichita Coop Build

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by SebashtionH, Nov 9, 2014.

1. SebashtionH

SebashtionH Out Of The Brooder

Oct 1, 2014
    Spring Hill Florida
    Hello All, I picked up the coop design from baldessariclan
    and I am re designing it to fit my 6'x12' idea.
    I am a cabinet maker by trade with 22 years exp. so this is going to be a little bit different from what I am use to building.
    I think I can do it :)
    Below is the sketch up file so far. I am pulling dimensions on all parts so I have a full set of plans, this way I can rock out in the shop cut all parts and then take them out to the site and build!!!!
    [​IMG]

I found a good deal for lumber on Craig list Tampa

[​IMG]

it is about 100) 2x4s, 7) 2x6, 11) T1-11 sheets and 2) windows for $200!!!!!!! I have to de nail them and clean them up. I need to clean them up soon they are blocking my shop entrance :)

this picture is the start of de nailing the lumber.
    [​IMG]

I also have the spot picked out on the side of my house, and staked off ready for the blocks to be leveled and put in.

[​IMG]

you cannot see the string level in this picture but the ground is about 8" drop in 12'. so I have a bunch of digging going to happen!!!!!
    I want the left side of the coop blocks to be about 2" above the ground so if it rains hard the water will not run into the coop.

I will post pictures as I progress, I am not in a rush since I don't have the hens as of yet so I get to take my time and build this as nice as I can, then start hunting for the girls for the coop.

Last edited: Nov 9, 2014
    1 person likes this.
  2. N F C

N F C dem crazy bones Premium Member

Dec 12, 2013
    Wyoming
    With your carpentry skills, you should have no problem building a coop! I like your coop plan and what a good buy on the lumber.

Looking forward to seeing progress pictures so keep posting, ok?

3. Finnie

Finnie Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 27, 2014