Mysterious Missing chickens

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by chickenpredatorkiller, Aug 1, 2011.

1. chickenpredatorkiller

chickenpredatorkiller Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 1, 2011
    South Carolina
    I have (had) 6 chickens, 3 Golden Comet and 3 Production reds and they are (were) almost 4 months old. I live in the woods, and this is my first time raising chickens. I build a small 6 x 4 coop and a small run that is connected to it, and it is fenced in with about 4 square inch holes, and I put a fine mesh netting over it and over the top of it and the coop. One morning I woke up and a chicken was missing. There were already a lot of feathers on the interior of the fence probably from them trying to get at a small black snake I killed (it's mouth was really small but it might of been able to eat one of them) or maybe the feathers were from a predator trying to get at them, but failing. Either way, one day I found one missing. There was no blood, no skin or meat or carcass, and pretty much no sign of a killing exept the feathers, which may or may not have been from that chicken. I have 2 cats and 2 dogs, but the dogs are fenced in and there aren't any feathers or anything in the dog fence and there is no evidence that the cats ate it either. Later I lost 2 more chickens. Somehow, the chickens are able to get out of the run, and they do when they run out of food, and so I think what might of happened is that they get out, and a predator takes it away without killing it.... Any ideas? (sorry for such a long post I just wanted to give as much info as possible)

Edit: MAN! was searching for missing chickens when I found a dead one in a dried up creek behind my house...[​IMG]:mad::mad::he:he:hit:hit:hit it's head was ripped off (and nowhere to be seen) and its side was ripped up a little but it was mostly intact. it makes me wanna cry. Any ideas as to what animal it was?

Last edited: Aug 1, 2011
  2. BrokenRoadFarm

BrokenRoadFarm Chillin' With My Peeps