1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Mystery Disease affecting my flock

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by HerFlock, Nov 8, 2013.

1. HerFlock

HerFlock New Egg

Nov 8, 2013
    Florida
    Hello! I am new to BYC but check these forums constantly for clues to this mystery disease spreading through my flock. Unfortunately, I still have no idea what it is!

I used to have 5 hens, and all was well. We got 10 babies, they grew up, and all was fine. We got 4 new baby bantam cochins, and shortly after, 15 broilers, and all was fine. Then I foolishly introduced two new grown flocks to my flock and all hello broke loose!

It started with me finding one of my newer girls dead in the run with my small bantam cochins. Hoping she had just accidentally eaten a tomato plant leaf, I didnt think too much about it. I got rid of the tomato plant and everything seemed fine. Then a few days later, another dead bird, and a week after that, another one! I had noticed that one of the meat birds was honking/sneezing. I know chickens dont honk, but thats kind of what it sounded like. She was also gasping for air, and I thought it was because she was a pleasantly was over plump girl, or could possibly have gape worm. She went to the palace in the sky the next day as I didnt want to see her suffer anymore.