Mystery Geese. Help solve the mystery!

Discussion in 'Geese' started by Auxesia, Jan 5, 2013.

1. Auxesia

Auxesia New Egg

Jan 1, 2013
    Chillingham, Australia
    Howdy. I live in Australia. I got some geese that were advertised as Pilgrims. I'm new to geese.

Breeder had what looked to be two flocks. One flock, looked like pilgrims, with the typical grey females and white males. The other flock were mostly white and a few whites with large grey areas.
    The geese I got are around 10 weeks old. One isn't fully feathered, but almost done. I got a trio, supposedly a male and two females.
    She had two trios for sale. She had four grey females. One grey male, one white and grey male. I explained when we first talked that I thought pilgrims were sexed by colour, but she told me I was wrong and that sometimes they throw back to mix up those two colours. I know sometimes they throw back to white females,but grey males??
    I got the white and grey male and two grey females.

When I got home and got thinking, it occurred to me that firstly, perhaps I was tricked, not that I care that much. But did she even sex them?
    This are my observations. Bare with me.

Two of them have very skinny necks. I not sure if this is normal, or a feminine trait, because one of the skinny necks happens to belong to the supposed male (the white and grey one). 'He' also has brown eyes.
    The grey 'female' with the thicker neck has a white bean on her bill. The other two, skinny neck ones, have black beans on their bills.
    The aforementioned thick neck, white beaned 'female' also seems to stand up taller than the others.
    Here are some photos.
    Thanks you for your help!
    [​IMG]
    The white one with dark grey on back is supposedly a male.
    [​IMG]
    The one on the right is the female with the thicker neck and white bean.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Male, female with the thin neck, female with the thick neck.

2. Auxesia

Auxesia New Egg

Jan 1, 2013