Mystery hens

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by suebgbr, Apr 16, 2012.

1. suebgbr

suebgbr Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 16, 2012
    Bolton, England
    The chicks I hatched last year were eaten by a fox and a ferret whilst on holiday at my friend's farm.
    She bought me some replacements from a poultry market. I have no idea what breeds they are as I am very new to this (only a few years).

This gray and brown girl is very shy and hasn't started to lay yet (she will probably be a he as I have had that happen before. One didn't crow because of the more dominant male.
    [​IMG]

The black and brown cockerel is half the size of my other cockrel. I don't know if that is because he is only one year old.

[​IMG]

The gray and white girl lays blue/green eggs. She is nesting at the moment but she is totally gorgeous (when she hasn't had all her neck feathers pecked off by the randy cockerel.) She has a tufty bit on her head and no comb. She has blue/gray flaps under her eyes.
    [​IMG]

You are probably all laughing your head off at the 'newby' but I really AM that thick!!

Love Sue x

2. Jenny28

Jenny28 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 14, 2011
    Chichester, NH
    The first one looks like a roo, not sure what kind, it's hard to tell from the picture. The second one is probably a bantam if he is half the size of your other roo, mostly likely a cochin mix of some kind- they usually are. The third one looks and sounds like an EE(easter egger) if her eggs are multi-colored like that. Does she have puffy cheeks?

3. suebgbr

suebgbr Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 16, 2012
    Bolton, England
    I have no idea about her cheeks? I will have a look. Her eyes are red by the way. I wondered if she was some kind of albino but then figured she would be all white?
    Ps what is a roo!!

4. Jenny28

Jenny28 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 14, 2011
    Chichester, NH
    Sorry, roo = rooster. [​IMG]

5. farmerChef

farmerChef Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 18, 2010