Mystery respiratory problem

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by EverettGal, Oct 30, 2014.

1. EverettGal

EverettGal New Egg

Jul 16, 2014
    Everett, WA
    Hello - this is my first post! I'm pretty new to raising chickens. For the most part, it's been pretty fun, but:

I have a chicken that has respiratory issues.

Facts:
    I've had her for 4 months and she's had it as long as i've had her.
    Symptoms are: raspy breathing, sneezing, shaking head, scratching head, gaping. Sometimes worse than other days - with the weather get colder and wetter, I seem to notice more sneezing.
    Her behavior has been fine - eating, drinking, laying, running around the yard like the other chickens.
    None of the other chickens seem to have it.
    I've had her on antibiotics twice (Duramycin -10 (sp?). Once for 7 days, once for 12 days with little to no change in symptoms.
    My coop is cedar -free and brand new.

I'm not sure where to go from here. With the weather getting colder, I'm worried she's going to get worse.
    I have read many posts and threads here, but still haven't come up with a solid answer what to do - especially since the antibiotics didn't seem to work. I bought some Vet RX, but don't know what to do with it.
    I've been to my local feed stores, I've called the livestock advisory line (he told me my chicken had worms), and the vet reference listed for my area is actually my vet (who does not treat chickens). In short, I have no local resources and look forward to some online expertise!

Thanks for any help.

2. Eggcessive

Eggcessive True BYC Addict Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio