N00b egg questions

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Nyxish, Oct 27, 2010.

1. Nyxish

Nyxish Out Of The Brooder

Nov 23, 2009
    i have 5 buff orphs and 3 guineas, they are my first birds, all hatched in may (i got them as chicks, i didn't hatch them).

My Blanche (and someone else?) laid her first egg yesterday, and as of this morning i am up to 3 adorable little brown eggs. It's fabulous and very exciting and i am very proud of my girls. i'm also totally new to all this.

However, i got the birds in big part to deal with bugs (ticks) and frankly, when all 5 hens are laying, i won't eat that many eggs. i have some friends who are all excited about buying fresh free range eggs, so yay, but... well, what do i need to know about eggs?

Do i need to get them at a certain time every day or do i just listen for the smug announcement from the coop?

How long can they stay in the nesting area?

How long do fresh eggs keep? Right now the 3 are in the fridge. Can i just wait until i have 6 or 12 and then take them from the fridge to my friends?

can i just say "these were laid this week" and they should be good to go for...as long as eggs usually last? Or group by day?

They've had bits of bedding on them, but otherwise are clean, so i just rinsed off the bedding with warm water and dried it with a soft towel and put it in the bowl with the others. Is that ok?

2. sheila3935

sheila3935 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2010
    Stonington, illinois