Naked butt on 1week Brahma Chick

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by DenverChickFam, Mar 19, 2015.

1. DenverChickFam

DenverChickFam Out Of The Brooder

Mar 19, 2015
    Hi! I am BRAND new to raising chicks. (Not even 24 hours in!!) We just got 3 week-old chicks from a local feed store, and our Buff Brahma has a naked butt. I've been searching everywhere and trying to figure out if this is normal. She doesn't seem to have pasty butt, other than there's a tiny brown fleck right on the top of the vent that I can't get off with warm water. She is pooping fine... I think. Every time I have seen her it comes fully out and looks like the "normal" poo pics I've seen. She seems healthy and is eating/drinking well. Attaching a pic so you can see what I mean by naked butt!

Any advice would be much appreciated.
    [​IMG]

2. azygous

azygous Chicken Obsessed

Dec 11, 2009
    Colorado Rockies
    It's dog-eat-dog, 'er, chick-eat-chick in those feed store chick brooder tanks. overcrowding, stress, etc, causes some to pick the down off their neighbors. It's doubtful you have a felon in your little bunch, so don't worry about it continuing, and the feathers grow back in.

I've had Buff Brahmas, and it's a good choice. They are a delightful breed, very loveable.

3. DenverChickFam

Mar 19, 2015
    Thank you so much! I was wondering if she had been plucked or bullied. It looks like the three little girls we have now have begun to bond. A tad bit of pecking here and there, but they seem to get along well so far! I will watch for her little booty to fluff back up :)

Do you think the brown scab/poo looks troublesome? I can't seem to get it off and don't want to hurt her!

4. azygous

azygous Chicken Obsessed

Dec 11, 2009
    Colorado Rockies