Need a few Bator questions answered

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Goat_Walker, Aug 7, 2009.

1. Goat_Walker

Goat_Walker I Am THE Crazy Duck Lady

Jul 9, 2008
    Maryland
    Well Iposted in incubating and hatching eggs but didnt get the response I needed.

OK, so -

Do I need to change temp or humidity towards the hatch date? I think the humdity s supposed to go up - but i need specific numbers. I know that the degrees may vary by a couple of degrees or whatever.

What number do I need to keep the temp and humidity at?

2. iamcuriositycat

iamcuriositycat Songster

Jul 30, 2009
    Charlotte, NC
    Yes, you do. [​IMG] I have only had one hatch so far, so I am no expert, but here is my understanding:

You want the temp to go down by about 1 1/2 degrees (to 98), but you may have to keep turning the thermostat down to accomplish this, because the ducklings will begin to generate their own heat toward the end.

And you're correct about the humidity, too--it should go up to about 80%. I know some folks make their own wet bulb thermometer to test this, but I just bought a cheap walmart hygrometer to measure the humidity.

If you're using a Hovabator, 80% is achieved primarily by filling all the little reservoirs that come with the bator. If you're still having trouble, you can mist occasionally with a spray bottle of warm water.

Good luck!

3. tia

tia Songster

Apr 19, 2009
    Valdez, Alaska
    I changed my humidity from 55 to 65 on my digital thermometer and left the temperature the same. When I asked the question, most said they didn't change the temperature. In the information I read you should drop it just a little, but I didn't and it didn't seem to make any difference. The seven eggs in the incubator at that time all hatched. I am assuming you are hatching ducks. Good luck!!!

Tia

4. jvls1942

jvls1942 Crowing

Oct 16, 2008
    wausau,wisconsin
    I do not know who "they" are..