1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Need a little help......

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by trulefty, Dec 18, 2009.

1. trulefty

trulefty Out Of The Brooder

Dec 12, 2009
    Magnolia, Ms
    Hello, I'm new at this and need a little help. I built on incubator out of a styrofoam ice chest and only lack putting the plexiglass in which I will do tomorrow. Right now it's running at 102 degrees with 83% humidity. I know I can turn my thermostat down a little but how do I get the humidity down? I believe the temp should run 99 to 100 degrees but what exactly should the humidity be? Aren't you suppose to raise the humidity at the end of the incubation?? [​IMG]

2. Kennyog

Kennyog Chillin' With My Peeps

May 7, 2009
    Oak Grove
    Your humidity is too high.It should be 45%-55% during incubation. At hatching,it should be 55%-65%.

3. kathyinmo

kathyinmo Nothing In Moderation

I incubate at 30 - 35% and then on day 18 turn it up to 60 - 65% for the hatch. If it is too high the first 18 days, they will be drowned in there. Also, be sure you have oxygen holes in the styrofoam bator. You can also use these holes in decrease your (too high) humidty, by keeping them open/unblocked.

4. hinkjc

hinkjc Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Jan 11, 2007
    PA
    What are you using for a water supply for humidity? Humidity goes up based on surface water, so you need less surface to bring it down. And it does take time to adjust the reading on a hygrometer, so be sure to wait an hour or so between adjustments.

5. trulefty

Dec 12, 2009
    Magnolia, Ms
    I have a pie plate with water in it, so I need to change that to something smaller and enlarge my air holes. Is that right?

6. flgardengirl

flgardengirl Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 2, 2009