Need advice on building a run

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by PDXChickGirl, Sep 13, 2007.

1. PDXChickGirl

PDXChickGirl Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 12, 2007
    Portland, Oregon
    Hi!
    I'm a newbie and have learned so much from this site. Thank you! [​IMG]

My chicks are now 4 weeks old and I'm now frantically trying to put the finishing touches on my coop and run. I'm building a run off of my chicken coop. The whole thing is in the middle of an old established rose garden in my backyard. The run will be 12 feet long and 4 feet wide. The sides and top are covered with galvanized wire in 1"x2" rectangles. The roses line both sides on the outside (those thorns are a bear!! :eek:).

My obstacles:
    How can I make this predator proof?
    Digging a trench around the run and burying wire is proving to be difficult because the rose bushes are so close to the outside edge.

Is it possible to dig the trench on the inside? If so, how deep and should it flange in or out (and for how long?)
    What material is used for this? It seems hardware cloth is inflexible and hard to work with.

Alternatively, can I lay hardware cloth on the floor and then bury it in dirt and sand? If so, how deep should the dirt be over the hardware cloth so the chickens don't hurt their feet?

Thanks everyone for your help!

2. greginshasta

greginshasta Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 26, 2007
    Mount Shasta, CA
    The idea of the wire being placed along the perimiter is to prevent tunneling under the side walls. That being the case, and if you want to trench down to place the wire vertically, how deep you go down is relative to how hard it will be for predators to dig.

If you have soft soil and it's easy to dig in, it sounds like 1 to 2 feet down is what I've seen discussed. If hard soil, maybe 1' is ok?