Need advice on care of broody hen - first time doing this

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by verlaj, May 3, 2009.

1. verlaj

verlaj Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 31, 2009
    Micanopy, Florida
    Dear wise and wonderful BYC people:

I have a GLW that is on day 5 sitting on eggs I purchased from a fellow BYCer. This is my first time doing this, so I would appreciate advice.

1) I have the hen in an extra-large dog airline crate, inside the big open air coop, reinforced with 1/4 inch hardware cloth to keep snakes out. The nesting box is a recycling bin - fits perfectly in one end of the crate, and has about a 3-inch lip in the open front.

I initially added cedar shavings to the mixed pine and hay bedding that was in the box for laying, based on recommendations that I read in a well-respected book on keeping chickens. Fortunately, after I updated my egg-supplier with the status of my broody hen, I mentioned the cedar shavings and she warned my of the hazards associated with them.

I read more on BYC about this, and found that others warn of pine shavings as well, particularly in an enclosed space. I have now replaced the cedar with pine, because at least that was considered less hazardous, but now I am thinking I should get hay, straw, or some other bedding and get rid of all the wood shavings. (I have used pine shavings a lot with the chickens and day-old chicks in a brooder, but this was always in a much more ventilated environment than the dog crate the hen is in.)

So: at last - Question 1: What bedding is best for the hen and the chicks-to-be?