Need Advice on dusting my chickens

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Roy Rooster, Oct 20, 2011.

1. Roy Rooster

Roy Rooster Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 9, 2010
    Tennesee Smoky Mts.
    Hi,

I am new to chickens and tried to dust my babies for the first time.

Background:
    - I have 13 hens
    - 1 rooster
    - they are 24 weeks old
    - All BO's
    - I am dusting with DE

Okay I tried to dust my babies today and ran into trouble.
    I have read that you hold them upside down and dust their tush
    and under the wings.

Ok...I held my birds upside down and they FREAKED!!! Upset the chicken I was dusting,
    the other started bawking loudly and the rooster got his tail feathers in a knot.

Anyway, I only got a few done because the flock was so hysterical so I had to quit. [​IMG]

My questions...Is there a better way to dust the bird that does not send everyone into a panic?
    I really do not want to upset my chickens this much.

Also, what is best to put in a dusting box for them to dust in? I was think DE and garden dust. Is that okay??

Thanks in Advance

Last edited: Oct 20, 2011
  2. welasharon

welasharon Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 28, 2010
    North Florida
    Do it at night. Pick them off the roost...but you still have to control the wings till they calm down.

3. Roy Rooster

Jun 9, 2010
    Tennesee Smoky Mts.
    Quote:I thought about that, my problem is I do not have a walk in coop. My coop is elevated and rather hard to get some
    of the birds.

How would I keep track of who I dusted and who I have not?

My original plan was to take them from the pen one by one dust them and
    when finished let them free range in the back yard till I got everyone. That way
    I was sure to get everyone dusted.

I will keep that in mind though.

4. ll

ll Chillin' With My Peeps

Doing them one by one is and putting each out to forage when done is perfect.