Need advice on possible digestive issues

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by bappl, Sep 30, 2015.

1. bappl

bappl Chillin' With My Peeps

Hi all,

I'm new to chickens. I have had my first flock since they were day old chicks. I have six hens (2 rhode island reds, 2 barred rock, and 2 easter eggers) and one rooster (rhode island red). They are all around 5 1/2 months old. Four of my six hens have begun laying and have been laying for around two or three weeks without any issues. Four of my six hens (the ones who are laying) have been getting poo on their bottoms. So far it's just been a little bit. But today, one hen had enough that I had to wash her bottom (I used blue dawn and warm water). She had several good sized chunks. I've also noticed very watery poos on the ground. Though, after seeing pictures of chicken poo (I found the link, on this site, to tons of pics of normal and abnormal poo), I don't really think they have diarrhea. Other than this, they are eating normally, drinking normally, and acting normally. They haven't lost any weight either. Am I overreacting? I bought a bottom of wormer but I'm not going to use it unless I actually see any worms in the poo, which I haven't. I did, however, add a teaspoon of vinegar and some probiotic powder to their water. This afternoon, I gave them a snack of their pellets mixed with yogurt. By the way, my chickens are free range and have never been wormed. I appreciate your insight!

2. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    I'd de-worm them - i would have thought that since they are free range they are bound to have picked some worms up along the way. My chickens free range and i de-worm them twice a year (timings change depending on if i see worms in the poo). It can't do any harm and at least you can rule worms out if the issue persists.

CT

3. bappl