Need advice on possible vent gleet, feather loss and pecking

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by kellyangel77, Mar 23, 2013.

1. kellyangel77

kellyangel77 New Egg

Mar 23, 2013
    Hi I am new to BYC and chicken raising. The other day I encountered my first problem since I got chickens around a year ago. I have two chickens that I'm pretty sure are shavers and are around 1 year old. They have been wonderful and I have encountered no problems until now. One chicken seemed to have rather messy feathers around it’s vent and runny stool so I did some research and vent gleet seemed to be what she has but I am not quite sure, it could be just normal diarrheaa. So I bathed her in Epsom salts, gave her some yogurt and some more Epsom salts orally with water. The only reason I noticed that anything was wrong that she seemed to be molting a lot. I was wondering If this is anything more than normal molting as her feathers have never done this before? Apart from that and not eating much she wasn't exhibiting any other unusual behavior. After the bath I watched her for around half an hour to make sure she was ok and that I didn't stress her out too much and I noticed the other chicken was pecking at the feathers around her vent. So I had a look and saw that quite a few were missing. I know that chickens pecking others can get quite out of hand so I was wondering if this is anything to worry about? Also is there anything else I should do to help my chicken with the diarrhea. Thanks.

Last edited: Mar 23, 2013
  2. realsis

realsis Crazy for Silkies

Jan 17, 2013
    California