1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Need advice on what to do

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by bitsy101, Sep 11, 2009.

1. bitsy101

bitsy101 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 25, 2009
    Mississippi
    Hi there I am new to hatching eggs and needed to ask a few questions. I have a standard black cochin hen setting on 9 eggs I got from a friend because all my hens are just starting to lay. Sunday will be her 21st day to sit. When I looked under her this moring one egg had a little hole in it. I assume this is a pip or peep. What is the difference? What is the amount of time from this to hatching? Also, she is in a pen with a speckled sussex rooster and 2 silver laced wyandotte hens. When would it be safe to move her to a brooder we have in the barn? Can I do it tonight or should I wait till the eggs have hatched? Thanks ,any advice would be appreciated.

2. HarlansHollowFarms

HarlansHollowFarms bana-bhuidseach anns gára

Jan 16, 2009
    I can't really help you, but I am sure someone wil give you the answers you need.

[​IMG]

3. 2txmedics

2txmedics Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 5, 2009
    Manvel Texas
    pip...is when its broken some shell, doesnt have to be much...zip is when it looks more like a zipper has opened the egg some...my hatch started on day 19th at 8pm...with pips...my first chick hatched the next day at 220pm...then the 2nd at 745pm...it takes along time sometimes.

once a chick pips...it should come out in 24hrs...thats good time. as to moving the hen...she might get angry and peck at you...not sure on that one, I hatch mine...

4. bitsy101

Mar 25, 2009
    Mississippi