Need Advice.. pip and then nothing

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by KickingChicken, May 19, 2011.

1. KickingChicken

KickingChicken Out Of The Brooder

May 24, 2010
    Hi-
    Sorry, I am not sure of the rules on starting a new thread when there are probably a million just like this. I am just hoping someone is online and can help a fellow chicken lover out. As you can tell by my frantic post... i am new to this.

I only have two eggs in the incubator the rest I put under a broody (first for me and her). The two that I have in the incubator piped around 10:00 to noon. Since then nothing has happened. Is this normal. I am seeing on other blogs that 12-24 hours in normal. However, they didnt explain if that was 12-24 hours till the whole chick is out, or 12-24 hours form pip to zip.

I was feeling good about the whole thing till my husband tells me that he opened the incubator!!! AHHHHHHH [​IMG][​IMG].

I dont know what DH stands for, but I have a good word for the D part!

I immediately through in a warm wash cloth. For the past few hours there has been little movement for one egg, none for the other. Also there is some chirping, but not much.

The intervention thread is very confusing for me. I am wondering if I should intervene. They dont say how long I should let it go before intervening.... Does someone have some clarification oe the "12-24 hours" for a chicken to normally hatch that I am reading on some posts vs intervening post saying start intervening when there is no more movement or peeping.

would pictures help?

Last edited: May 19, 2011
  2. valley ranch

valley ranch Chillin' With My Peeps

Do you mean the chick chipped the side of the egg or made a sound?

You should be alright. give them time.

Let us know how they come out.

3. KickingChicken

May 24, 2010
    Sorry, I can see how that would be confusing. Both of the eggs have made an external pip and one of them is still peeping (making noise).
    [​IMG]

4. cackydoodledoo