Need advice please! Chicken's leg is hurt

Iamgrateful

Chirping
8 Years
Aug 29, 2011
Our white leghorn appears to have a leg sprain and is not putting any weight on the leg. I've read that it is best to isolate the hurt chicken and put into a quiet cage or something and not let her roost. The problem is we only have 2 chickens currrently out in the coop (the other two were killed late fall) - is it ok to isolate the hurt chicken and leave the other chicken in the coop alone? Its pretty cold right now at night (20-30 degrees f). It doesn't feel right to leave the other chicken out in the coop all alone. Is it ok to leave the hurt chicken in the coop? She is mostly just sitting on the floor.

Any advice is so appreciated as I am new to this. Thank you!!!

hi, um that sounds bad but if the chicken that is not injured is bothering the injured chicken i would seperate them but if the chicken is not bothering the injured chicken i think it would be ok for them to be together. i also have white leghorns and we have had interesting times. i hope this post was helpful to you and can you repley and tell me how the chicken is doing
smile.png