Need advice whether this run/roof is doable please *pics*

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by catchthewind, Mar 26, 2011.

1. catchthewind

catchthewind Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 27, 2011
    Vancouver Island
    We're going to try and get our run done this weekend, so that our chicks can at least be out side all day if not overnight yet (cause our coop isn't quite done).

Here is my crude plan (sorry, I'm not a Paint artist haha, and the note was to my husband):
    [​IMG]

We were going to bury our posts in cement and hope to end up with the run being around 6'6" tall (my husband and I are both 6' tall). The problem is, the coop is only around 5'8" around the outer edges. We were going to have hardware cloth running around the bottom and out the sides, and welded 2x4 wire around the top. Not sure how we are going to roof it yet, but it has to be able to handle some snow load.

Here's the (unfinished) coop for reference:
    [​IMG]

I may be missing something simple. Is it possible to have a 6'6" run when the coop is lower than that without having it slope towards the coop (which I assume would be a bad idea, especially in my rainy climate)? I'd love for at least part of it to be completely roofed (and we have some corrugated roofing we might be able to use for that), as this run is really only for if we have to go away for the day or in bad weather.

2. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    Just a few quick thoughts.

I'm guessing the door is on the 8' side.

Instead of an ell-shaped run, make your run 8' wide and about 20 feet long. You will lose some wire length when you go around those corner posts and you will probably not use wire for the portion that is your gate into the run, so you can adjust that 20 feet dimension. Don't try to get too efficient or you'll wind up with just barely too little wire.