Need advise on badly injured male quail

Discussion in 'Quail' started by 99Quail, Oct 15, 2012.

1. 99Quail

99Quail New Egg

Oct 15, 2012
    I am kind of new to raising quails, and hatched/raised my first batch of quails. Most of them are Texas A&M, even though there are a few brown ones. They got to the age that I can start telling the males from females, and I separated out 2 brown males about 6 days ago. Today I saw a Texas A&M crowing, so I took him out and put him with the other two. I watched them for a few minutes and saw one of th brown ones picked on the A&M a little but nothing severe. I figure they used to be together fine and thought they will be fine again, so I went out to dinner. I came back seeing a very badly injured A&M, with head soaked in blood and exhausted. And the offender is still trying to do more damage to the A&M. I feel so bad about it, but do not know what to do but to take him out and put him back to the cage with the others. I read somewhere that others might pick on him now due to the injury, but I really do not have a separate place to hold him, and so far others seem to leave him alone. Does someone have some advise on what I should do in such situation? Thanks in advance!

2. SeptemberQuail

SeptemberQuail Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 10, 2012
    Australia