need advise on broody hen

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Zammys Zooyard, Nov 17, 2013.

1. Zammys Zooyard

Zammys Zooyard Out Of The Brooder

Sep 26, 2013
    Hiddenite
    I am new to raising chickens, I bought 12 , 2 roos and 8 hens, there were 2 chicks but the were killed by the others when moving them to the new pen. That being said I know the hens will hatch out chicks, but as I have never done this i need some advise.

1st my little old emglish bantum has been on the nest 2 days, she wont budge even at night. How doi know if there are eggs under there?

If i check and there is, if she moves will she come back?

if there are how do i know if they are fertile? If i check them can i put them back and she will keep brooding ?

thanks for any advise
    Zammy

2. ellie32526

ellie32526 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 21, 2012
    North Texas
    Decide whether you want to let her hatch the eggs or not. If you do leave her alone and let her do her job. I wouldn't worry about how many there are or anything just don't disturb her. On the other hand if you are like me and you don't want her to hatch anything, remove her from the nest whenever she is on it and send her packing out of the house. Collect the eggs and go on about your business. I wouldn't try to collect the eggs while she is on the nest, you could get pecked. I have a Buff Rock who goes broody about once a month for a week or tow and then decides she doesn't want to anymore. The first time I let her alone thinking she would hatch out some chicks, but within two weeks she was finished with being broody and I was left with a couple of eggs that were partially developed and no incubator. So now, whenever I see her acting like that I shoo her out of the house. I have enough hens so I don't really need anymore chicks.

3. Suzie

Suzie Overrun With Chickens

Jul 9, 2009
    Auvergne