1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Need Help and Tips on how to Sex my Polish and Silkies

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by cbsimons, Apr 6, 2017.

1. cbsimons

cbsimons New Egg

Mar 18, 2017
    Hi-

A little background, this is my first time raising chicks. I bought 25 Pullets/Polish chicks from Murray McMurray Hatchery and 5 Silkies/ straight run from Cackle Hatchery . I gave 15 away to my friends and I kept 10 of Polish and I lost both a polish and silkie[​IMG] So my 13 chicks are now about 5 weeks old. I had someone from a local feed store stop by and she told me I have almost all Rooster's because they have spurs, some dull and some pointy. I called the hatchery and they explained that's not a good way to determine sex on Polish's and remember I paid for Pullets for the Polish's knowing there is a 90 percent success rate. They said the girls have more of a Pom Pom head and softer feathers and the roosters are rougher feeling and stringy feathers & head feathers.... I don't want roosters, and being a new chicken person I am having a difficult time figuring it all out. So I know so many of you are chicken experts and I need your help!!! Do you have any tips or ideas on how to sex both my Polish's and my Silkies, I really don't want to wait until the first crow. I am happy to attach pictures if necessary. Thank you all so much!!!

2. Leah567

Leah567 Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Apr 3, 2017
    Texas
    My Coop
    It would be great if you could attach some pics.

3. CascadiaRiver

CascadiaRiver Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 12, 2014
    Pacific Northwest
    Pictures would be great, you picked the WORST first chickens as far as easy to sex and easy to free range...

4. cbsimons

cbsimons New Egg

Mar 18, 2017