Need Help asap! Have a silky thats had chicks and want to leave them be but the baby almost fell o

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Jeneric1013, Dec 31, 2014.

1. Jeneric1013

Jeneric1013 New Egg

Jul 24, 2014
    Hope someone on here can help me quick. I am really new to chickens (only had since May this year) and our silky went broody and I gave in and let her sit on eggs. Have one baby out, one cracking out as we speak and 3 more eggs under her. I put a board up on the bottom by the coup door and thought all would be well. Went to check on her today and she went out to eat. The baby walked up to the board and jumped!!! I was glad I was there and caught it:/ What do I do???? I want her to raise them naturally but don't want a baby chick to die either. It is cold here (low 20's tonight) or I would take her and move her to the ground (assuming I could move the eggs) to a kennel but then it would be her against the cold the others would go in the coup. I don't want to remove momma and the babies and have to chance reintroducing them. Any help would be great. Going to post a pic in a few of what our set up looks like. Thanks in advance!!!

2. appps

appps Overrun With Chickens

Aug 29, 2012
    Australia
    So your saying it tried to follow her outside? They are going to have to do that because they aren't going to survive inside without her either. If you shut them inside and she stays out for half an hour eating and wandering your going to have dead chicks. It's really not a good time to hatch.